Volunteer Orientations & Trainings

casa31

ORIENTATION EVENTS –

Come join us at one of our upcoming events to learn more about representing the voice of abused and neglected children in court, and what it means to become a CASA volunteers. If Saturday morning works best for you, join us for Coffee with CASA. If a weekday noon hour works well, join us for a Lunch & Learn. If you’d rather come in and talk with us personally, please contact Dionne Jones, dionne@childadvocates.net , to set up an interview.

 

2015 Orientation Dates

Please RSVP to Dionne@childadvocates.net. Orientation events will be held at our Child Advocates office (8200 Haverstick Rd, Ste 250, Indianapolis 46240).

*Additional event dates may be added as they are determined

 Lunch & Learn’s

New Additional*  4/27/15      Monday          Lunch & Learn    11:30am-12:30pm

5/6/15 Wednesday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
6/23/15 Tuesday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
7/28/15 Tuesday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
7/8/15 Tuesday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
10/2/15 Friday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
11/2/15 Monday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm
12/15/15 Tuesday Lunch & Learn 11:30am-12:30pm

 

Coffee With CASA 

New Additional*  5/2/15      Saturday    Coffee with CASA      10:30am-11:30am

5/9/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
6/13/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
7/18/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
8/8/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
9/19/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
10/17/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
11/14/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am
12/5/15 Saturday Coffee with CASA 9:30am-10:30am

CASA Volunteer Training

All training’s are held at the Child Advocates office located at 8200 Haverstick Road, Suite 240, Indianapolis, IN 46240.

Before you can sign up for a training, you must first submit a volunteer application.

Potential Volunteers….

  • Must be at least 21 years old and a high school graduate
  • Must successfully complete and pass the screening requirements of Child Advocates which include a criminal history check, CPS (Child Protective Services) check and Sex Offender check.
  • Cannot be a licensed foster parent with Marion County wards in your home.
  • Cannot be employed at an agency that holds a service provider contract with the Marion County Department of Child Services (DCS)

 

Spring I

3/7/15 Saturday CASA Roles & Responsibilities / DCS Overview / The Legal Process 9:30am-4:30pm
3/14/15 Saturday Abuse & Neglect / Report Writing & Interviewing 9:30am-4:30pm
3/28/15 Saturday Cultural Sensitivity / Families in Crisis / Optima 9:30am-4:30pm
3/31/15 Tuesday Volunteer Panel / Graduation 5:30pm-8:30pm

 

Spring II

4/14/15 Tuesday CASA Roles & Responsibilities/ DCS Overview 9:30am-3:00pm
4/17/15 Friday The Legal Process/ Abuse & Neglect 9:30am-3:00pm
4/21/15 Tuesday Court Report Writing & Interviewing/Cultural Sensativity 9:30am-3:00pm
4/23/15 Thursday Families in Crisis/ Optima 9:30am-3:00pm
4/28/15 Tuesday Graduation/ Volunteer Panel 10:00am-12:00pm

 

Summer I

5/5/15 Tuesday CASA Roles and Responsibilities 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/7/15 Thursday The Legal Process/ DCS Overview 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/14/15 Thursday Abuse and Neglect 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/19/15 Tuesday Court Report Writing & Interviewing 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/21/15 Thursday Cultural Sensitivity 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/26/15 Tuesday Families in Crisis 5:30pm-8:30pm
5/28/15 Thursday Graduation/ Volunteer Panel/Optima 5:30pm-8:30pm

 

Website Management by Bnpositive Communication