Volunteer Orientations & Trainings

casa31

CASA Orientation Lunch & Learns

Join us for any of our 2014 CASA Orientations. You can learn more about Child Advocates and being a CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) volunteer. Orientations are held at Child Advocates’ office from 11:30AM-12:30PM. Lunch is provided. Please RSVP to dionne@childadvocates.net

2014 Orientation Dates

January 7 July 8
February 5 August 5
March 4 September 3
April 8 October 7
May 7 November 5
June 3 December 9

 

 

 

 

 

 

CASA Volunteer Training

All training’s are held at the Child Advocates office located at 8200 Haverstick Road, Suite 240, Indianapolis, IN 46240.

Before you can sign up for a training, you must first submit a volunteer application.

Potential Volunteers….

  • Must be at least 21 years old and a high school graduate
  • Must successfully complete and pass the screening requirements of Child Advocates which include a criminal history check, CPS (Child Protective Services) check and Sex Offender check.
  • Cannot be a licensed foster parent with Marion County wards in your home.
  • Cannot be employed at an agency that holds a service provider contract with the Marion County Department of Child Services (DCS)

 

Fall I

9/9/14 Tuesday CASA Roles & Responsibilities / DCS Overview 9:30am-2:00pm
9/11/14 Thursday The Legal Process / Abuse & Neglect 9:30am-2:30pm
9/16/14 Tuesday Report Writing & Interviewing / Cultural Sensitivity 9:30am-2:30pm
9/18/14 Thursday Families in Crisis / Optima 9:30am-2:30pm
9/23/14 Tuesday Graduation / Volunteer Panel 10:00am-12:00pm

 

Fall II

9/29/14 Monday CASA Roles & Responsibilities / DCS Overview 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/1/14 Wednesday The Legal Process 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/6/14 Monday Abuse & Neglect 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/8/14 Wednesday Cultural Sensitivity 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/13/14 Monday NO CLASS due to Columbus Day N/A
10/15/14 Wednesday Report Writing & Interviewing 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/20/14 Monday Families in Crisis/ Optima 5:30pm-8:30pm
10/22/14 Wednesday Volunteer Panel/ Graduation 5:30pm-8:30pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fall III

11/1/14 Saturday CASA Roles & Responsibilities / DCS Overview / The Legal Process 9:30am-4:30pm
11/8/14 Saturday Abuse & Neglect / Report Writing & Interviewing 9:30am-4:30pm
11/15/14 Saturday Cultural Sensitivity / Families in Crisis / Optima 9:30am-4:30pm
11/18/14 Tuesday Volunteer Panel / Graduation 10:00am-2:00pm

 

 

Website Management by Bnpositive Communication